Former members

Photograph of Val  Mulkerns

Val Mulkerns

Born in Dublin in 1925, she moved to London after working in the civil service, and returned to Ireland in 1952 as associate editor of The Bell. Her novels include A Time Outworn (1951), A Peacock Cry (1954), The Summerhouse (1984) and Very Like A Whale (1986). A third edition of The Summerhouse was published by Tara Press in 2014. Her short stories are collected as Antiquities (1978), An Idle Woman (1980), and A Friend of Don Juan (1988). She jointly won the AIB Prize for Literature in 1984. As Mayo County Library's first writer-in-residence in 1987-1988, she edited the New Writings from the West anthology. She wrote a weekly column for the Evening Press from 1968 to 1983, and she has written two children's books, which have been translated into German and published by Benziger of Zurich. She was married to the late writer Maurice Kennedy, and edited a posthumous collection of his work The Way to Vladivostok (2000). Val featured as the most senior Irish writer included in Reading the Future: New Writing from Ireland Celebrating 250 Years of Hodges Figgis, edited by Alan Hayes. Her most recent works, published by 451Editions, are collected short stories Memory and Desire (2016) and Friends With the Enemy – a memoir (2017). 

For more details see


<  back to former members

Back to top