Minutes of the meeting of the Toscaireacht

Date: 21 January 2008

Time: 12.00 am

Venue: No. 12 Merrion Square

Present:

Mannix Flynn, Mary Fitzgerald, Alice Hanratty, Dermot Healy, Samuel Walsh, Macdara Woods, Eibhlís Farrell, Seoirse Bodley.

In attendance

Toby Dennett (Registrar), Niamh McCabe (International Arts and Artists' Officer)

Papers before the meeting

Agenda Minutes of meeting Nomination papers

Agenda

- Election of Chair
- Apologies
- Previous Minutes/Matters Arising
- Review of Nominations for New Members
- AOB

1. Apologies and Introductions

Apologies from Anthony Cronin and Brian Maguire were noted.

2. Election of Chairperson

Dermot Healy was nominated to chair the meeting.

3. Previous Minutes/Matters Arising

The Toscaireacht agreed that the minutes were a true and accurate record of the meeting.

Matters Arising:

Re. item 4 – The Registrar reported that the General Assembly would take place in Dublin in either very late April or early May.

Re. item 5 – It was expressed by some members that the level of scrutiny that nominating letter had been put under at the last meeting seemed excessive in some instances. The issue was discussed at length with reference being made to previous problems relating to nominating letters and questions around whether the current system was useful in addressing such problems and whether the

wording of the request for nominations might need to be reconsidered. There were also concerns raised about the consistency of instruction regarding the use of quotes by nominated artists in the literature discipline. It was noted that there was no single rule book where all of the various procedures relating to Aosdána business could be referenced.

4. Review of Nominations for New Members

It was noted that revised letters had been received as requested and that there was one additional nomination to be considered which had not been presented at the previous meeting. The nominations for new members were examined and the following nominations were approved:

- Barbara Freeman
- Peter Sirr
- Frances Hegarty
- John ffrench
- Stephen Lawlor
- John Liddy
- William McKeown

It was agreed that the approved nomination should be distributed as soon as possible and that the deadline for receipt of votes should be set as the 29 February.

5. AOB

The schedule for meetings in advance of the General Assembly was agreed as follows:

Wednesday 13 February Some time week beginning 3 March Some time week beginning 31 March

It was agreed that Mannix Flynn would chair the next meeting on 13 February.