Minutes of the meeting of the Toscaireacht

Date 3 December 2008 Time 1.30pm Venue No 70 Merrion Sg

Present

Seórse Bodley, Alice Hanratty, Samuel Walsh, Macdara Woods, Dermot Healy, Brian Maguire, Mary FitzGerald.

In attendance

Toby Dennett (Registrar) and Katie Lowry (International Arts and Artists Supports Officer)

Papers before the meeting

Agenda Minutes of previous meetings Nomination papers

Agenda

- Election of Chair
- Apologies
- Previous Minutes/Matters Arising
- New Members Nominations
- AOB

1. Election of Chair

Dermot Healy was elected to chair the meeting

2. Apologies

Apologies from Anthony Cronin, Mannix Flynn, and Ébhlís Farrell were noted

3. Previous Minutes / Matters arising

The following amendments were agreed:

- Mary FitzGerald was included in the list of those present at the meeting
- The lengthy discussion surrounding the item on interpretive and performing artists should be removed from the minutes and only the text of the letter should be recorded as the decision of the meeting

4. New Members Nominations

The Registrar clarified membership criteria regarding nationality (Aosdá natakes an all Ireland approach)

It was noted that concern had been expressed by 2 nominators regarding the process by which architecture nominations are dealt with in the discipline ballot.

The nominations for new members were examined and the following nominations were approved:

- Chris Agee
- Merritt Bucholz
- Gary Coyle
- Mary Dorcey
- Yvonne Farrell
- Barbara Freeman
- John Gibbons
- Frances Hegarty
- Sean McCarthy

- Jay Murphy
- Little John Nee
- Sheila O Donnell
- Sean O Reilly
- Edward Power
- Stephen Rothschild
- John Tuomey
- Gerard Smyth

Revised letters of nomination were requested to be re-submitted for the following nominations:

- Mary Branley (3rd party quotes to be removed from Leland Bardwell s letter)
- Brian Leyden (3rd party quotes to be removed from Leland Bardwell s letter)
- John Liddy (MacDara Woods agreed to speak with seconder Michael Smith re a revised nomination)
- Colm McCann (3rd party quotes to be removed from Jenifer Johnston s letter)
- Lia Mills (3rd party quotes to be removed from Eílís Ní Dhuibhne letter)
- Louis Stewart (3rd party quotes to be removed from Dermot Healy and Michael Holohan letter)
- Ronald Talon (extended letter and CV to be sought from Shane de Blacam)

5. AOB

Some members expressed a wish to discuss the Arts Council discussion document on interpretive and performing artists at a future meeting.