Aosdana New Members Event

New Aosdána members, elected in 2020, gathered via zoom on 10 Dec,  to learn more about the affiliation of creative artists in Ireland and what it means to be a member.

The event was attended by all 13 new members; Kevin Barry (Literature); Gerard Byrne (Visual Art); Pat Collins (Visual Art); Jim Doherty (Music); Margo Harkin (Visual Art); Martin Lynch (Literature); Gina Moxley (Literature); Valerie Mulvin (Architecture); Mairead O’hEocha (Visual Art); Arthur Riordan (Literature); Liz Roche (Choreography); John Scott (choreography) and Jennifer Walshe (Music); as well as some recently elected members who had not attended a gathering like this before; Anne Tallentire (2017); Eddie Kennedy (2017) and Rita Duffy (2018).

Arts Council Director Maureen Kennelly welcomed the new members to the ‘Aosdána family’ and spoke about the importance of Aosdána to the Arts Council. The members listened to a presentation on Aosdána and had an opportunity to ask questions about Membership; the General Assembly; Nominations and Election; Saoi; Toscaireacht; Cnuas and Administration. Promotion was also discussed with information on the web site and social media. The presentation given can be found here.