Current members

Photograph of Brian  Friel

Brian Friel

Born in Omagh, Co. Tyrone in 1929, he has published two collections of short stories and many plays, including The Enemy Within (1962), Philadelphia Here I Come! (1964), Lovers (1967), Crystal and Fox (1968), The Freedom of the City (1973), Volunteers (1975), Living Quarters (1977), Aristocrats (1979), Faith Healer (1979), Fathers and Sons (1987), London Vertigo (1991), A Month in the Country (1992), Wonderful Tennessee (1993), Molly Sweeney (1995), Give Me Your Answer, Do! (1997), Afterplay (2002) and The Home Place (2005). In 1980, he co-founded the Field Day Theatre Company in Derry, which premiered his plays Translations (1980), The Communication Cord (1982) and Making History (1988), and his adaptation of Chekov's Three Sisters (1981). Dancing at Lughnasa (1990) won several awards in London and the 1992 Tony Award for Best Play in New York; it was adapted for screen and filmed on location in Ireland in 1997. He has adapted several other Chekov works, including Uncle Vanya (1998), The Yalta Game (2001), and The Bear (2002). In addition to awards for his plays, he received a lifetime achievement award from the Irish Times in 1999. He is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the Royal Society of Literature and the Irish Academy of Letters. He lives in Co. Donegal.

<  back to current members

Back to top