General Assembly


Each year, the membership of Aosdána meets in General Assembly, to elect new members, to agree matters of policy, finance and procedure, to undertake an analysis and review of the various activities of Aosdána, and to discuss issues relevant to the arts and artists in society. The proceedings of a General Assembly are covered by Standing Orders.

General Assembly 2015

The 2015 General Assembly was held on 5th March at the Royal Hospital Kilmainham. President Michael D. Higgins was the guest of honour. The text of the President’s speech is available here.

11 new members were elected: composer Elaine Agnew, visual artist John Byrne, architect Tom de Paor, composer Ciarán Farrell, visual artist Marie Hanlon, writer James Harpur, writer Mary Morrissy, writer Michael O’Loughlin, visual artist Geraldine O’Neill, visual artist Joe Walker and writer Enda Wyley.

General Assembly 2014

The 2014 General Assembly was held on Tuesday 29 April at the Royal Hospital Kilmainham. Joe Steve O Neachtain was elected to Aosdana at that meeting.

General Assembly 2013

Because of the unique position of Aosdána internationally, and in the context of the Irish Presidency of the Council of the European Union, Aosdána's 2013 General Assembly included a special afternoon session. Those present were welcomed with a short introduction to Aosdána by Theo Dorgan, which was followed by addresses from Saoithe Anthony Cronin and Seamus Heaney, and presentations on the work of Patrick Scott and Camille Souter.

The texts of the addresses are available here.

Back to top